The Ohio State University
ID Bar


Undergraduate Program
Summer 2008
3 B.S.E.C.E. degrees specializing in electrical engineering awarded
3 B.S.E.C.E. degrees specializing in computer engineering awarded
375 majors
186 pre-majors
Graduate Program
Summer 2008
5 M.S. degrees awarded
7 Ph.D. degrees awarded
269 enrolled
Research Awards
ECE received 65 awards from June 1 - September 30, 2008: $5,369,204 total.
  ECE - 38 awards: $3,909,979
  ESL - 27 awards: $1,459,225

ECE Professor Named Associate Dean for Research

Randolph Moses, PhD
Professor Randy Moses
We are pleased to announce that Randolph (Randy) L. Moses has been named the College of Engineering's Interim Associate Dean for Research, effective October 1 and extending until September 30, 2010.

Moses received his Ph.D. in 1984 in electrical engineering, from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. He joined Ohio State in 1985. His research focuses on stochastic digital signal processing, with applications to radar and sensor networks. He currently leads a MURI program on Automatic Target Exploitation and the Center for Automatic Target Recognition Research. His research accomplishments include three Lumley Research Awards and the Research Accomplishment award from the College of Engineering, as well as a DARPA award for Outstanding Research Contributions. He is also a recipient of the Harrison Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education.


bullet Eric Walton, retired senior research scientist, Electroscience lab, has been selected to receive the 2008 Antenna Measurements Techniques Association (AMTA) Distinguished Achievement Award. He will receive the honor, given annually to a single individual who distinguished himself throughout his/her career on antenna measurement techniques, in November.

bullet Prof. Len Brillson heads the NSF Research Experience for High School Students program which was initiated as part of his NSF GOALI grant. Each summer, four students from Columbus School for Girls participate in this unique experience. At the end of the program, the women present their research results. Shown right, the interns enjoy a photo opportunity following their presentations with Ohio State president E. Gordon Gee who made a surprise visit in honor of the program's 3rd year and continuing success.

Summer Research Program
Front: Dina Tayim, Laura Arnold, OSU president E. Gordon Gee, Anyssa Armstead, and Margaret Yatsko. Back: MSE professor John Lannutti, ECE professor Len Brillson, and Dr. Kevin Sweeney (Columbus School for Girls).
bullet Woo-Jun Yoon, a doctoral student of Paul Berger, professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Physics, received an Honorable Mention at the 33rd IEEE Photovoltaic Specialists Conference, San Diego, for his research on high-efficiency flexible polymer solar cells.
Student Poster Winners  
Pictured (left to right): ECE emeritus professor H.C. Ko, Yijun Zhou, Liya Ding, William Moulder, and ECE Chair and professor, Robert Lee.

bullet The John D. and Alice Nelson Kraus Memorial Student Poster Competition was held at the 2008 EE/ECE Alumni Reunion in September. Faculty and alums voted for their top three favorite entries. The winners were: 1st place ($500), Yijun Zhou, Polymer-Based Carbon Nanotube Antenna, advisor John Volakis; 2nd place ($300), Liya Ding, Precise Detailed Detection of Faces and Facial Features, advisor Aleix Martinez; 3rd place ($100), William Moulder, A Portable Low Power Harmonic Radar System and Conformal Tag for Insect Tracking, advisor John Volakis.

bullet Vineet Rawat won 2nd place in the best paper award given at the 2008 International IEEE Antennas and Propagation Symposium in San Diego. His paper was entitled A Domain Decomposition for Time-Harmonic Electromagnetics by Vineet Rawat and Jin-Fa Lee (advisor) was selected from 176 submitted student papers.


bullet Burn Lin, Ph.D. graduate ('70) advised by Stuart Collins, and currently Senior Director at Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (TSMC) and an NAE member, is the recipient of the 2009 IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award. This award recognizes outstanding contributions to miniaturization in the electronic arts in the IEEE fields of interest. He has graciously donated the $5,000 prize money to the department.

bullet The EE/ECE Alumni Reunion 2008 was a great success! Throughout the day we had approximately 40 people for various events. Below are a few photos from thoughout the day. The group photo is of alums who took the tours later in the afternoon (do you recognize anyone?), bottom left is one of the tours given at the ElectroScience Lab by researcher Yakup Bayram , and bottom right is graduate student, Arda Kurt, presenting his poster to a reunion guest. SAVE THE DATE for the 2009 OSU Reunion Weekend: September 11-13, 2009.

EE/ECE Alums at 2008 Reunion
Arda Kurt explaining poster

bullet We're looking for alumni news! If at any time you have information to share about yourself or another alum that you think would be of interest to our readers, such as awards, a new position in a company, service to the community, etc., please forward them to

Any questions or comments? Please send them to: